Clubs & Activities

Class of 2023

Advisors:
Laura Densmore
densmore.l@sau54.org

Alisabeth Eaton
eaton.a@sau54.org

Meets on Mondays 2:20 - 3:00 pm in room 236

Class of 2024

Advisors:
Erin Saucier
saucier.e@sau54.org

Lauren Jerr
jerr.l@sau54.org

Meets on Tuesday mornings 7:00 - 7:30 am in room 223

Class of 2025

Advisors:
Stacy Horne
horne.s@sau54.org

Kim Griffin
griffin.k@sau54.org

Meets on Mondays 2:20 - 3:00 pm in room 309

Class of 2026

Advisors:
Cailtin Gately
gately.c@sau54.org

Ryan Carey
carey.r@sau54.org

Meets every other Monday 2:30 - 3:30 pm in room 113

Anime Club

Anime Club is an organization for anime enthusiasts (with any level of familiarity with the genre) to watch shows, play games, and do other various activities.

Meets every Thursday 2:15 - 3:20 pm in room 227

Advisors:
Robert Sturtevant
sturtevant.r@sau54.org

Ryan Carey
carey.r@sau54.org

Art Club

Art club is a chance for students to gather in the art department and create. There is no set curriculum but students are encouraged to ask questions of the teacher and their peers.

Meets every other Tuesday 2:20 - 3:30 pm in room A312

Advisor:
Abra Andrews
andrews.a@sau54.org

Book Club

Read a book once a month and discuss with other book enthusiasts.

Meets every other Wednesday during Advisory 10:22 - 10:52 am in the Library.

Advisor:
Susan Westfall
westfall.s@sau54.org

Chess Club

This is a club in which students play chess. It is not competitive, anyone who wants to learn is more than welcome to join as well.

Meets on Tuesdays 2:30 - 3:30 pm in room 239

Advisor:
Jeremy Jason
jason.j@sau54.org

CTE Ambassadors

Ambassadors for the CTE program responsible for community outreach, tours, and leadership activities.

Meetings at 6:45 am as needed.

Advisor:
Patrice Hunt
hunt.p@sau54.org

Dance Team

The Dance Team is a group of students who enjoy the art of dance. They collaborate to choreograph pieces for performances.

Meets Tuesdays & Thursdays 2:20 - 3:00 pm in the Wresting room

Advisor:
Stacy Horne
horne.s@sau54.org

Debate Team

The Debate Team is a group of students who engage in rigorous and scholastic debate. Additionally, they compete at the NHDL Tournaments throughout the year.

Tuesdays and alternating Thursdays & Fridays 2:20 - 3:30 pm room 302

Advisor:
Evelyn French
french.e@sau54.org

Diversity Alliance

Diversity Alliance hopes to provide an inclusive and welcoming space for people of all identities. We focus on educating each other about the history of marginalized identities and how we can address recurrent issues of racism, sexism, transphobia, misogyny, ableism, etc. We often host fundraisers to help people in need from all walks of life. 

Meets Mondays 2:15 - 3:00 pm in room 225

Advisor:
Eden Suoth
suoth.e@sau54.org

Dungeons and Dragons

Dungeons and Dragons is a club where students are able to learn and play the tabletop roleplaying game.

Meets every Monday 2:30 - 3:30 pm room 310

Advisors:
Kevin McNair
mcnair.k@sau54.org

Ryan Carey
carey.r@sau54.org

Educators Rising

Is a Career and Technical Student Organization (CTSO) that participates in community service and competitive events at the state and national level. Educators Rising helps to cultivate a new generation of highly skilled educators by guiding young people on a path from high school through college and into their teaching careers. Students taking Foundations of Education classes are eligible for participation in this organization. 

Advisors:
Patrice Hunt
hunt.p@sau54.org

Kristin Lavrich
lavrich.k@sau54.org

Environmental Science Club

This club is focused on promoting awareness of environmental and sustainability issues within the school and local communities.

Meets every other Wednesday 2:20 - 3:00 pm room T128

Advisor:
Darren Scopel
scopel.d@sau54.org

FBLA

Future Business Leaders of America. We are involved in community service and education. We compete for scholarships and the opportunity to attend and compete at the national conference.

Meets Tuesdays 2:20 - 3:00 pm every 3 weeks September-January and every 2 weeks January-April

Advisor:
Leah Taylor
taylor.l@sau54.org

Film Club

Get together with a group of fellow film enthusiasts to watch a movie once a month then participate in relevant discussion & activities.

Meets every other Tuesday. Discussion days 2:30 - 3:30 pm and Film Showings usually 2:30 - 4:30 pm in room 213

Advisor:
Emily Almquist
almquist.e@sau54.org

French Honor Society

French Honor Society is an opportunity for students to enrich their understanding of French culture and give back to their community.  To be eligible, you need to have an A in French 1 and 2. They also need to have taken French 3 (A) or be enrolled currently. 

Meets every other Friday 2:15 - 2:45 pm in room 205

Advisor:
Emily Cormier
cormier.e@sau54.org

HOSA

National Organization for future healthcare professionals. Community service, organize and run a blood drive and host guest speakers.

Monthly meeting on Tuesdays 2:15 - 3:00 pm in room T220

Advisor:
Lisa Kumph
kumph.l@sau54.org

Interact Club

Is a junior version of Rotary. Here at SHS the focus is on community service, not only in the school community but in the Rochester community as well.

Meets Tuesdays 2:20 - 2:45 pm in room 305

Advisor:
Kaitlin Ciccarello
ciccarello.k@sau54.org

Jewelry Club

Gives students the opportunity to learn the skills of a jeweler. Students would gain knowledge of jewelry construction and metalwork. Yearly we will focus on at least two major fundraising events in selling jewelry that is already made for fundraising. There will be a $10 membership fee for materials.

Meets every Monday 2:15 - 3:00 pm in room A314

Advisor:
Jennifer Daly
daly.j@sau54.org

Mu Alpha Theta

Is a National Math Honor Society & club that provides peer tutoring services for Spaulding HS math students, as well as hosts the annual mathalon for the local elementary schools.

Monday thru Thursday students meet twice a week on various days 7:00 - 7:25 am or 2:20 - 2:45 pm in room 242

Advisor:
John Vasalle
vasalle.j@sau54.org

National Honor Society

Is a nationwide organization for high school students in the United States and outlying territories, which consists of many chapters in high schools. Selection is based on four criteria: scholarship, leadership, service, and character.The NHS requires some sort of service to the community, school, or other organizations. The time spent working on these projects contributes towards the monthly service hour requirement.

Officer meetings Tuesdays 6:30 - 7:15 am and the whole group every other Thursday 2:30 - 3:30 pm in the Auditorium or Cafe

Advisors:
Marissa Chapman
chapman.m@sau54.org

Taylor Ramsay
ramsay.t@sau54.org

Outing Club

Monthly outings: hikes, walks, skating, snowshoeing. Activities will be decided on by the group.

Meets off site

Advisors:
John Mastroianni
mastroianni.j@sau54.org

Lisa Kumph
kumph.l@sau54.org

Ping Pong Club

Students play and learn the basic game of ping pong.

Meets Mondays 2:30 - 3:30 pm in room 103

Advisors:
Mjr. Heeter
heeter.d@sau54.org

Sgt. Kerrigan
kerrigan.j@sau54.org

ProStart Culinary Competition Team

It is a team of five that participates in the culinary competition in March.   

The competition highlights each team's creative abilities through the preparation of a three-course meal in 60 minutes, using only two butane burners, and without access to running water or electricity. Students are evaluated on taste, skill, teamwork, safety and sanitation. A position on the team is only available to students in the restaurant management program.

Starting in January Tuesdays & Thursdays 2:30 - 4:30 pm in room T111

Advisors:
Vicki Garay
garay.v@sau54.org

Deb Weymouth
weymouth.d@sau54.org

Robotics

Learn to design, program, drive and raise funds for a competitive robot from scratch. Oh yes, and to build it.

Meets Tuesday & Thursdays 2:30 - 5:00 pm in room T118
Starting in January, M-F 2:30 - 5:00 pm & Saturday 9:00 - 5:00 pm

Advisor:
Patrick Kelcourse
kelcourse.p@sau54.org

Ski Club

This club is open for all levels of skiers to ski for fun and improve their skills.  Ski Club will offer lessons and rentals for scheduled SHS dates.  Ski passes purchased are valid for the entire ski season (December through closing). SHS Ski Club is open to all SHS students grades 9-12.

Advisors:
Jason Bushway
bushway.j@sau54.org

Patrick Carr
carr.p@sau54.org

SkillsUSA Automotive Chapter

SkillsUSA is a CTSO (Career and Technical Student Organization). Students in Automotive 1 and 2 are members and eligible to compete in the automobile service competition.   We also do a few small events each year.

Advisor:
Bob Nienhouse
nienhoue.b@sau54.org

Spanish Honor Society

We are an Honor Society that recognizes the work and dedication of our students, and we also do community service. Students are invited upon completion of Spanish.

Meets every other Thursday 2:15 - 2:35 pm in room 105

Advisors:
Lee Sims
sims.l@sau54.org

Susan Dromey Heeter
heeter.s@sau54.org

Student Leadership

Responsible for school wide events & activities that promote kindness, school spirit and a more inclusive school community.  

Meets Friday mornings at 6:45 am in the Auditorium

Advisors:
Lauren Jerr
jerr.l@sau54.org

Sheila Colson
colson.s@sau54.org

Yearbook

This club is responsible for the production of the Spaulding Triangle, our annual yearbook.

Advisors:
Erin Saucier
saucier.e@sau54.org

Tyler Nutter
nutter.t@sau54.org